Board members and senior management team

Management of the Commission today

Governance responsibilities for strategy and future direction of the Commission rest with its Board of non-executive members of the Commission. Corporate decision making that affects the day-to-day operation of the Commission is delegated to the Senior Management Team. This group is chaired by the Chief Executive and includes the eleven Heads of Function.

The Board is supported by an Audit Committee and a Civil Service Pay Committee. The Directors are each supported by committees comprising their own senior staff together with representatives of other key parts of the organisation.

Board members


William Shawcross CVO

William Shawcross CVO imageWilliam Shawcross, CVO, joined the Charity Commission as Chair on 1 October 2012.

William became a writer after leaving University College Oxford in 1968. He was in Czechoslovakia during the Soviet occupation: this inspired his first book, a biography of Alexander Dubcek, the Czechoslovak leader, which was published in 1970. Since then he has travelled widely. In 1995 he wrote the BBC Television series Monarchy. In 2002 his BBC Television series and book, Queen and Country celebrated the Queen’s Golden Jubilee and examined the changing face of Britain during her reign. His official biography of the Queen Mother was published to acclaim in 2009. In 2012 he published Justice and the Enemy and Counting One's Blessings: the selected letters of the Queen Mother. He has also written on the work of aid agencies and international organisations in his books The Quality of Mercy - Cambodia, genocide and Modern Conscience and Deliver Us From Evil - Warlords and Peacekeepers in a World of Endless Conflict.

William has broad charity sector experience, particularly in human rights and international aid. He was Chairman of Article 19 from 1986 to 1996; a Board member of the International Crisis Group from 1995 to 2005; and a member of the Council of the Disasters Emergency Committee from 1997 to 2002.

Eryl Besse

boardebesseMrs Besse is a native Welsh speaker. She has over 30 years’ experience of the practice of law in 3 international law firms. She was a partner at both Linklaters and Debevoise & Plimpton, where she had a track record of completing large, complex, time sensitive projects. She has had experience in a number of civil society organisations and is currently a Member of the Development Committee, Campaign Board at Magdalen College School, Oxford.

Peter Clarke

boardpclarkeMr Clarke is a retired senior police officer. He was Deputy Assistant Commissioner in the Metropolitan Police Service where he was Head of the Anti-Terrorist Branch and National Co-ordinator of Terrorist Investigations. Previous roles included Head of the Royal and Diplomatic Protection Department and Deputy Director (then Acting Director) of Personnel for the Metropolitan Police and a non-executive Director for the Serious Organised Crime Agency. He is a trustee of Crimestoppers, a patron of the International Centre for the Study of Radicalisation at King’s College, London and Education Commissioner at the Department for Education.

Claire Dove

boardcdoveMs Dove is a leading social entrepreneur who has been involved in the development of the social enterprise sector for over 25 years. She was recently awarded the Queen’s Lifetime Achievement Medal for Promoting Enterprise. She is Chief Executive of the Blackburne House Group and Chair of Social Enterprise UK. Claire is a Deputy Lieutenant for Merseyside, a Fellow and governor of John Moores University, Vice Chair of Liverpool Community College and a business ambassador for the Northwest.

Orlando Fraser (legal board member)

boardofraserMr Fraser has an established reputation at the Chancery Bar, with 18 years experience advising on and presenting complex financial cases, including trusts and commercial fraud. A founding Fellow of the Centre for Social Justice, he chaired the Voluntary Sector Working Group on Iain Duncan Smith’s Social Justice Commission Report: Breakthrough Britain. He sits on the Advisory Council of the National Council for Voluntary Organisations (NCVO) and has had a range of involvement with charities.

Tony Leifer

boardtleiferMr Leifer has had a distinguished career at both DJ Freeman and Olswang LLP Solicitors, at each of which he was partner and formerly Head of the Corporate Department. He is a Member of the Board of Deputies of British Jews and is Chair of their Constitution Committee and a member of the Board’s Executive Committee. Mr Leifer is Chairman of the Jewish Council for Racial Equality, Trustee of YaD and the Corrine Burton Memorial Trust and General Counsel (part-time) at Curtis Brown Group Limited.

Nazo Moosa

boardnmoosaMs Moosa has 20 years experience of working in industry, specifically in the technology, media and internet sectors. She was a Director of The Carlyle Group, has served as a Board and remuneration committee member of Transics (Euronext listed transport technology company), Chairperson of BMM (digital marketing services company) and later as a board and audit committee member of LBi (Euronext listed digital agency now part of Publicis).

Gwythian Prins

boardgprinsMr Prins is Research Professor at the London School of Economics and Political Science. He is also visiting professor at the University of Buckingham. For over 20 years he was a Fellow in History at Emmanuel College, Cambridge and latterly University Lecturer in Politics. Much of his work has been in Africa or on strategic matters. During the latter 1990s he served as Senior Fellow in the Office of the Special Advisor on Central and Eastern European Affairs, part of the Office of the Secretary-General of NATO, Brussels. He is currently a member of the Chief of the Defence Staff’s Strategy Advisory Panel. He has published on African history, medical anthropology, European politics and on military and strategic issues.

Senior management team

Chief Executive

Paula Sussex

Paula_Sussex.jpgPaula Sussex joined the Charity Commission as Chief Executive in June 2014. Paula's previous role was Senior Vice President, Public Sector for CGI, where she led a business delivering solutions and services to the public sector and was a member of the main board of CGI UK. She has previously held similar strategy and leadership roles at Atos Consulting and KPMG Consulting, working with clients in the public, private and voluntary sectors. Paula is qualified as a barrister and holds a Sloan Masters Degree from London Business School. She has a longstanding association with Crisis, the charity for single homeless people, where she was a trustee for six years.

  • Head of Business Services
Nick Allaway
  • Head of Information and Communications
Sarah Atkinson
  • Head of Investigations and Enforcement
Michelle Russell
  • Head of Legal Services
Kenneth Dibble
  • Head of Operations, Liverpool
Lynn Killoran
  • Head of the Office of the Chair and CEO
Daisy Houghton
  • Head of First Contact
Neville Brownlee
  • Head of Operations, Taunton
Neil Robertson
  • Head of Operations, Wales
Harry Iles
  • Head of Policy
Jane Hobson
  • Head of Registration
Alison Wells

Related information

Expenses incurred by Board Members and Senior Executive team As part of our commitment to transparency, we now publish details of expenses incurred by our Board Members and Chief Executive.

Print page